Cilantro Sesame BBQ Chicken

yes, that's my wine. I drank while hubby created fire

Last night hubby and I got our BBQ on.

Yep, we took the dog and two chicken breasts out to the back patio and had ourselves a party.

fact of the day: cilantro is also known as 'chinese parsley'

Having never operated a BBQ in my life (a fact I am unashamed of), the cooking part was left in the capable hands of hubby dearest. My job was to make that chicken flavoursome and succulent.

I have no idea how this works except beyond the basics of fire = heat

And oh how flavoursome it turned out to be.

This is a subtle, tangy marinade with ginger, coriander (I just can’t get used to calling it ‘cilantro’ sorry) and sweet tamarind.

My chicken sat in it all day long because I am the kind of person that gets up at 6am and starts crushing garlic – seriously, I am a freakishly early riser – but an hour would suffice.

Be sure to baste the chicken with the marinade as it cooks on the BBQ and, if you don’t have a BBQ or it’s still unseasonably cold where you live, stick it under the grill/broiler.

You should never let bad weather get in the way of a good meal.

Cilantro Sesame Chicken (serves 2)

  • 2 chicken breasts, with the skin on
  • 3 cloves of garlic, minced
  • 1/3 cup sesame oil
  • 1 inch chunk of ginger, peeled and grated
  • 1/3 cup fresh cilantro leaves, finely chopped
  • 1 1/2 tsps sweet tamarind pulp
  • 1 tsp honey
  • 2 tsps sesame seeds, toasted for a few minutes under the grill
  1. Whisk together the sesame oil, ginger, garlic, tamarind, honey, cilantro and sesame seeds.
  2. Pour over the chicken breasts, cover and let chill in the fridge for at least an hour.
  3. Place chicken on the BBQ and cook for 30 minutes on a low heat, turning once. While cooking frequently baste the meat with the leftover marinade.

    I like my meat with black stripes on it...like roadkill

23 thoughts on “Cilantro Sesame BBQ Chicken

      • Heh, we don’t actually camp but we both love to eat al fresco. So it will just be us in our garden.

        I was a keen camper many years ago but am in no condition to go camping these days. A pity, as I used to really enjoy it. These days it has to be an en-suite room in a guest house to meet my personal and medical needs.

      • Well there’s no shame in camping in your own back garden (that way you can sneak into bed when it gets chilly)…..I think as long as you are out in the fresh air, it’s all good.

  1. Mmmm – delcious, as usual! I love your site. So much so, that I’ve just given you the Liebster award, which you can learn about by going to my home page. I hope you are as pleased about it as I was when Mother on edge gave it to me – Sharon (and Vinny)

    • I am! I am extremely pleased! Thank you so much Sharon – I really appreciate it.

      P.S love your mission to make cooking fun for kids & Vinny is a cutie 🙂 reminds me of Quentin Blake’s illustrations

  2. Reblogged this on The ObamaCrat.Com™ and commented:
    Ms. Cat, we have to stop meeting like this….ladies and germs…please visit the incredible blog: “Things My Belly Likes”. Ms. Cat is a recipe Mistress of the cooking realm. Who doesn’t like Cilantro Sesame BBQ Chicken???

  3. Pingback: Lemon Thyme Chicken « Things My Belly Likes

  4. Pingback: Honey Garlic Chicken Wings « Things My Belly Likes

  5. Pingback: Cilantro Chili Dressing | Things My Belly Likes

  6. Pingback: 7 Chicken Marinades for Juicy Chicken | Paleo Grubs

Leave a Reply

