Bacon wrapped Tilapia

with a side of broccoli for extra health points

That’s right. I said it. Bacon. Wrapped. Tilapia.

I had a fit of the crazies last night when I realised we had leftover bacon in the fridge that was on the cusp of being unusable.

I hate HATE HATE waste and especially when we fork out a lot for our bacon (it’s the posh nitrate-free, antibiotic-free stuff). I’m happy to pay higher prices for the ‘clean’ food cos, in my opinion, it’s an investment in our health but letting it go bad is just ri-donk-u-lous.

We are not made of money. More’s the pity.

So, to cut a long story short…no wait, it’s already long….to cut a long story a bit shorter, I made excellent use of the languishing bacon by wrapping it around some fish. As you do.

Not a usual choice I know but it proved tasty and I don’t shirk at mixing my proteins. Served up with a plate of broccoli (side note: how awesome is broccoli?) this made for a simple and nourishing mid-week meal.

Bacon Wrapped Tilapia (serves 2)

  • 1/4 cup sesame oil
  • juice of half a lemon
  • 1 clove garlic, minced
  • 2 tilapia fillets
  • 3 rashers of streaky bacon
  • salt and pepper
  1. Prepare the marinade for the fish by whisking together the oil, lemon juice and garlic. Pour over the fillets, cover and marinate for at least an hour.

    slowly soaking up the good stuff

  2. Grill/broil the bacon for 5 minutes til partially cooked. Remove and wrap one rasher around each tilapia fillets. I cut the remaining rasher in half and placed each half on top of a fillet for extra bacon-y goodness.
  3. Place the prepared fillets on a foil tray and put under the grill/boiler once more. Cook for ten minutes, turning halfway through then serve immediately.

VERY important P.S: Folks, I just joined Twitter.

Impressive considering that up until about a month ago I referred to it as “tweeter”. At the moment I am the ginger kid in the playground with the glasses that are too big for her face and a tendency to fall over a lot (no kidding, I was that kid, I’ve lived that horror).

If you are of the tweeting (I nearly wrote “twitting” #lottolearn) kind, please consider following me. I promise to attempt to be relevant, witty and engaging all at once, though that’s a tall order.

I may take to drink before the month’s out.

Thanks!

25 thoughts on “Bacon wrapped Tilapia

  1. Pingback: Bacon Wrapped Pork Tenderloin (with Pineapple Glaze) « Things My Belly Likes

    • I did the tilapia under a broiler so no oven temp setting involved. I just set the oven to ‘broiler’ and it’s like placing it straight under a grill. I guess you’d say they were under a medium heat – hope that helps.

  2. Pingback: Bacon & Corn Hash « Things My Belly Likes

  3. Pingback: Tilapia & Strawberry Salsa « Things My Belly Likes

  4. Pingback: Quick n’ Easy Lemon Catfish | Things My Belly Likes

  5. Pingback: Seared Chicken Thighs with Bacon & Red Chard | Things My Belly Likes

  6. Pingback: Seared Scallops with Bacon Mustard Sauce | Things My Belly Likes

Leave a Reply

