Chicken Masala

oh this was so creamy and good

I’m shocked – shocked I tell you! – that it’s taken so long for curry to appear on this blog.

Why? Well because I cut my culinary teeth on curry.

It was curry that made me get excited about flavours like garlic, ginger, lime, spices. It was curry that showed me how easy it was to put a tasty, healthy meal on the table in minutes. It was curry that made me realise I’ve a freakishly high tolerance for spicy food.

Don’t worry, I’ve gone easy on the spice in this one. As I understand it, and feel free to correct me, masala sauce is a creamy tomato-based sauce that should have a hint of heat but nothing overpowering.

With this dish, I’m more about the fragrant blend of flavours than burning your face off.

Chicken Masala (serves 2-3)

  • 2 skinless, boneless chicken breasts cut into inch sized chunks
  • 1 tbsp coconut oil
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 bird’s eye chili, finely chopped
  • 1/2 white onion, finely chopped
  • 1 inch-sized chunk ginger, finely chopped
  • 1 tsp garam masala
  • 1 tsp turmeric
  • 1 large tomato, diced
  • 2 tbsps tomato paste
  • 1 tbsp water
  • 1/3 cup fresh coriander/cilantro, finely chopped
  • 1/4 cup heavy cream
  1. In a large saucepan heat the oil and gently fry the chili, onion, garlic and ginger for a few minutes until the onion turns translucent.
  2. Add the chunks of chicken and fry for a further 5 minutes ’til they brown. Remove chicken from pan and set aside.
  3. Add the tomato, tomato paste, water, coriander and spices to the pan. Simmer over a low heat for ten minutes then blend the mixture in a food processor/blender until smooth.
  4. Return the sauce to the pan and add the chicken back in. Simmer for five minutes until the chicken is completely cooked. Remove from heat and stir in the cream.
  5. Serve with white rice, a side of veg or pretty much anything your heart desires.

    here's another shot, from above - I spoil you

    NB: TMBL is toddling off on holiday for the next two weeks. Yep, that’s two weeks of FUN for me but two weeks of sporadic posting for you lot.

    Please don’t desert me in favour of a regularly updated blog that bats its eyelashes at you the minute I’m gone. I promise normal service will resume as soon as humanely possible.

35 thoughts on “Chicken Masala

  1. That sounds and looks so good…. Urg….wish i could eat it though, but after having my gall bladder out recently ive gotta “watch”…what i eat. So thats what I do, i watch the foods i wanna eat as others eat and enjoy them…:(
    Great recipe btw!

    • No curry powder. It’s not necessary since you have all the signature curry flavourings in there like chili pepper, garlic, ginger etc

      PS. I’d love to see the happy food dance, if it’s anything like mine it is very similar to the need-to-pee dance

      • I will try it!

        The happy food dance is indeed similar to the need to pee dance, however, it involves much bigger smiles 🙂

  2. +1 to mrszeg… I’ll dance in the kitchen as I make this 🙂

    I love aloo curry.. so simple with some roti.. I’m going to have to try this!!! yummmmmm!

  3. Oh, so yum! I’m going to have to make this…
    I started my cooking adventures with curry too. So many great tastes and textures plus healthy and easy! Thanks for sharing this one!

    • Nope, all those lovely spices and things come from my local shop. Apart from the garam masala which is a spice blend I make myself (there are loads of recipes on the internet if you can’t find this at your supermarket…it’s fairly common though)

  4. Pingback: Paneer & Cauliflower Curry « Things My Belly Likes

  5. Pingback: Chicken Stroganoff « Things My Belly Likes

  6. Pingback: Mango Chicken Curry | Things My Belly Likes

  7. Pingback: Jerk-Spiced Chicken Thighs | Things My Belly Likes

  8. Pingback: Vegetable Biryani | Things My Belly Likes

  9. Pingback: Goan Fish Curry | Things My Belly Likes

  10. Pingback: Lime & Coconut Prawn Curry | Things My Belly Likes

  11. Pingback: Lamb Korma | Things My Belly Likes

  12. Pingback: Slow Cooker Chicken Masala | Things My Belly Likes

Leave a Reply

