St Paddy’s Day Countdown: Guinness Glazed Salmon

One tbsp for the recipe, one gulp for the cook

Hooray! I’ve been going on about it all week on the blog but, finally, tomorrow is St Pat’s.  The one time of year I get to bust out my St Patrick’s Day joke which is so bad it’s been known to make people punch me.

Q:What did St Paddy say as he was driving the snakes out of Ireland?

 

A:”You boys alright there in the back?”

Before you laugh out your spleen, here’s one final Irish recipe: Guinness Glazed Salmon.

Guinness has appeared in all manner of recipes from cakes to pies to bread but it’s not something you see often in a fish dish.

I’m rectifying this by making a simple sauce with maple syrup and Guinness and using it to baste the salmon as it is cooking. It’s sweet and good.

If you don’t have maple syrup, molasses or honey would work just as well and if you don’t have salmon, prawns/shrimp would suffice.

If you don’t have Guinness then I pity you. There’s nothing to be done.

all the Irish food groups

Guinness Glazed Salmon (serves 2)

  • 2 salmon fillets
  • 1/2 cup Guinness
  • 3 tbsps maple syrup
  • juice of half a lemon
  • 1/2 tbsp butter
  1. Heat all the above over a high heat until it boils. Turn the heat down to let it simmer for 7 minutes.
  2. Place salmon in an oven-proof dish and pour the Guinness mixture over the fillets.
  3. Cover with foil and put in the oven. Bake at 375 for 10-15 minutes depending on the thickness of the fish. Remove from oven halfway through to baste with sauce.
20 thoughts on “St Paddy’s Day Countdown: Guinness Glazed Salmon

    • I don’t hate you at all! TMBL welcomes all types…plus that means even MORE Guinness for me 🙂
      It does work well, the maple syrup takes the edge off the Guinness and gives the salmon a v unique (but good!) flavour.

  1. Sounds like a great idea for salmon! I pretty much always cook mine the same way because my boyfriend insists nothing else tastes as good, but I may be able to convince him to let me try this!

  2. Pingback: Smoked Salmon & Red Onion Quiche | Things My Belly Likes

  3. Pingback: Turnip & Salmon Patties | Things My Belly Likes

  4. Pingback: Guinness & Sweet Potato Chili | Things My Belly Likes

  5. Pingback: Lemon and Dill Salmon | Things My Belly Likes

  6. Pingback: A St Patrick’s Day Feast (Guinness Chocolate Cake, Dublin Coddle, Colcannon and more!) | Things My Belly Likes

Leave a Reply

