St Paddy’s Day Countdown: Traditional Wheaten Bread

That's grape jam. Oh yeah.

Being Irish I reserve the right to transform St Patrick’s Day into St Patrick’s Week (it’s what he would’ve wanted).

This is just a long-winded way of saying that every day this week I’ll be posting Irish-themed recipes. Check back here if you like the sound of Guinness Glazed Salmon or Pickled Cream Colcannon!

If you can’t wait that long, I invite you to devour theseΒ Baileys Cheesecake Bites in the meantime.

Right, that’s enough shameless plugging.

If you’re ready, let’s kick off this St Pat’s extravaganza with one of the most simple – and lovely – of all Irish dishes. Wheaten Bread.

This recipe comes from a member of my family which makes it extra special. I don’t normally eat wheat as it is NOT a thing my belly likes, however this time of year I’m more than a little homesick and cooking recipes from my family’s kitchen seems to shorten the miles between us.

It’s best eaten slathered with butter and a thick wedge of raspberry jam. And, of course, don’t forget the tea.

Traditional Wheaten Bread

  • 2 1/2 cups coarse ground wholemeal flour
  • 4 tbsps butter
  • 1 cup buttermilk
  • 1 tbsp brown sugar
  • 1 tsp sea salt
  • 1 tsp baking soda
  1. Put the flour, salt, sugar and sieved baking powder into a bowl. Stir to combine.
  2. Cut your butter into small pieces and add that. Use your fingers to grind the butter into the flour until it is a fine crumb. A good rule of thumb is to shake the bowl gently from side to side – this will ease out any larger lumps that you can then squish. They cannot hide!
  3. Pour in all the buttermilk and stir until a thick lump.
  4. Transfer this to a lined or greased 9in loaf tin and bake at 360 for 40 minutes.
  5. When done turn onto a wire rack and wrap with a (clean!) teatowel until cool – this retains its moisture and will make for a nice soft loaf.
24 thoughts on “St Paddy’s Day Countdown: Traditional Wheaten Bread

  1. Just out of the oven and I LOVE IT!!! I had whole wheat flour from a locally owned mill (i have my own wheat that we grow and mill but was too lazy besides, the other was in the fridge and handy!)

    A nice crunchy exterior and soft inside. Hubs is going to love this!

    • Brilliant! I’m so glad you gave it the seal of approval. Your description even makes me want to eat it all over again πŸ™‚ Thanks for letting me know.

      Milling your own flour? Impressive, wish I lived on a farm (though the hard work might kill me) – do you guys have your own source of raw dairy too? You are living the dream…

      • Grind my corn from our cornfields too and the jam is homemade from our orchards. But sadly, no milk products. Years ago, I got milk straight from a dairy about 6 miles away but no more. Regulations dontcha know. *grumbling under breath* Don’t get me started…but the good news is….Hubs LOVED this! It’s just so easy to make. And fast! Thanks for sharing!!!

  2. Pingback: Carmelised Plantain Bread « Things My Belly Likes

Leave a Reply

