Creamy Broccoli and Cheddar Soup

it was everything broccoli soup should be

One of the many joys of working full-time (is it too early in the week for this level of sarcasm?!) is that Sundays invariably become Soup Sundays.

By Sunday I’m usually wondering what to cook so hubby and I have something to put in our lunchboxes when we trot off to school the office on Monday.

Soup is often the answer. Quick to heat up, nutritious and filling, it’s the ideal alternative to gnawing on whatever junk is within reach or – horror of horrors! – heading to the nearest fast food place.

That food may be fast but it definitely shortens your lifespan.

My creamy broccoli and cheddar soup, on the other hand, has lots of lovely nutrients to stave off the mid-afternoon slump (“WHERE is my crack/coffee/chocolate?!”) and is a joy to bellies both carnivorous and vegetarian.

If you are unfortunate enough to be dairy intolerant, just skip the cream and replace the cheese with a potato. It is that versatile.

Creamy Broccoli and Cheddar Soup (serves 4)

  • 1 tbsp butter
  • 1 small white onion, finely chopped
  • 3 stalks of celery, finely chopped
  • 2 large bunches of broccoli
  • 2 1/2 cups or 6oz of grated sharp cheddar
  • 4 cups chicken, or vegetable, stock
  • 1/2 cup heavy cream, at room temperature
  1. Melt the butter in a large saucepan over a medium heat. Add the onions and celery and gently fry for five minutes.
  2. Roughly chop the broccoli (including the stalks) and add to the pot. Pour in the stock, turn the heat up ’til it boils and then reduce to let it simmer for 20 minutes.
  3. Turn off the heat and transfer the contents to a blender, process on a slow speed. You don’t want it completely smooth, it should be still a little chunky.
  4. Return to pan and stir in the cheese, followed by the cream.
  5. Season with salt and pepper to taste. Serve!

here it is again in a different bowl. Poser.

25 thoughts on “Creamy Broccoli and Cheddar Soup

    • Bust out the soup pot, it’s time!

      Yep, soup is incredible. I used to hate it when I was younger because I couldn’t chew it (I was really into my textures back then) but I now appreciate the value of a good bowl.

      Thanks for commenting and visiting 🙂

  1. Reblogged this on The ObamaCrat.Com™ and commented:
    I love this soup, but then again there is not much vegetarian I don’t like. I am not a vegetarian because I love meat, but I love vegetables as well. Thanks to “Things My Belly Like” for this recipe.

  2. I LOVE ALL THINGS BROCCOLI! My favorite veggie I can eat it with anything and cooked or uncooked anyway…Broccoli with me is the one food I can always eat anytime of day or night…:)

  3. Pingback: Creamy Tomato Soup « Things My Belly Likes

  4. Pingback: French Onion Soup « Things My Belly Likes

  5. Pingback: Asparagus & Tarragon Soup | Things My Belly Likes

  6. Pingback: Tomato, Basil & Garlic Soup | Things My Belly Likes

  7. Pingback: Thanksgiving Recipe Round-Up | Things My Belly Likes

  8. Pingback: Cauliflower & Avocado Soup | Things My Belly Likes

  9. Pingback: Pumpkin, Sweet Potato & Cheddar Soup | Things My Belly Likes

  10. Pingback: Spring Greens & Pea Soup | Things My Belly Likes

  11. Pingback: Broccoli, Basil & Arugula Soup | Things My Belly Likes

  12. Pingback: Broccoli & Bacon Soup | Things My Belly Likes

Leave a Reply

