Ginger Tea Bread

proud to be ginger

There’s no avoiding the fact that I’m ginger though God knows, during my misbegotten past, I’ve tried. And tried. And tried.

Of course now that I’m an adult and no longer a cog in the public school system, it’s become a lot easier to embrace the red.

This includes, but is not limited to, Beaker from The Muppets, Garfield, sweet potatoes …and ginger bread. I’ve been trying to make this beauty for years but am constantly thwarted by life (don’t you hate life and its pesky thwarting abilities?).

I love this guy

I finally got around to crossing it off the list though. It’s a pretty delicious, grain-free version using coconut flour which gives it a cakey, rather than sticky, texture.

Oh yeah and I’m infusing my milk with ginger tea.

Infusing your milk might seem like the act of an unhinged madwoman (it comes with the hair) but I just wanted to give that little extra ginger kick without resorting to crystallised ginger (which is too sugary for my taste).

Give it a try, let me know how it goes. Oh and next time you want to make a joke about gingers, don’t.

 

Ginger Bread

  • 3/4 cup coconut flour
  • 6 eggs
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 cup butter
  • 1/3 cup coconut (or other) milk
  • 3 tsps dried ginger
  • 1/3 cup unsulphured black strap molasses
  • 2 ginger teabags
  1. Melt the butter in a saucepan over a low heat. Add the milk and the ginger tea bags (preferably organic) and let it steep for 5 minutes. Simmering but not boiling. Then set aside to cool.
  2. Sieve the coconut flour and ginger into a large mixing bowl. Add the salt.
  3. In a separate bowl whisk the eggs and molasses together. Gradually add the milk/butter liquid, whisking continously until it is a smoothy, creamy syrup-type goo (description fail).
  4. Add the wet ingredients to the dry, stirring ’til it forms a smooth batter. Pour batter into a greased 9in x 5in loaf tin. Bake at 400 for 20 minutes.
25 thoughts on “Ginger Tea Bread

  1. I love the idea of using tea. I might just up the ante and add some fresh ginger. I always wanted to be a ginger ( dyed the hair for a while). It is my favorite flavor. Thanks for the recipe. I am always looking for new coconut flour recipes.

    • Oooh fresh ginger would give it an extra kick! Let me know how that goes.

      Thanks and thanks for your comments re gingerness. It’s true what they say: you always hate what you have and want what you don’t 🙂

    • Coconut flour is amazing. Nutritionally speaking, it’s much better for you than wheat flour. Takes a bit of getting used to baking wise though – very dense. Sucks up moisture like a vaccum cleaner. Happy experimenting!

    • I believe you can get coconut flour at Trader Joe’s or Wholefoods. I don’t have access to the US grocery stores (boo) though so I get mine from a local healthfood store. If you want to really hunt down a bargain, you can also buy it online at places like Tropical Traditions (btw they don’t pay me to endorse them! I just like the look of the site).

      Bear in mind that a little coconut flour goes a long way – it can’t be substituted for wheat 1:1 as it is very different. For a start you need a lot more moisture as it is very dry. That’s why 100% coconut flour recipes call for lots of eggs (about one egg per ounce of flour used).

      If you want some good info about its nutritional benefits etc, check out Mercola’s page. I’m not endorsing him or his product, just loving all the info he’s got there.

      Sorry for being so long-winded..happy bakery experimenting 🙂

  2. Pingback: Carmelised Plantain Bread « Things My Belly Likes

  3. Pingback: Chia Lemon Drizzle Cake « Things My Belly Likes

  4. Pingback: Carrot & Squash Bread | Things My Belly Likes

  5. Pingback: Flax & Raisin Breakfast Bread | Things My Belly Likes

  6. Pingback: Very Ginger Gingerbread | Things My Belly Likes

Leave a Reply

