Herb Beef Burgers & Chunky Chili Sauce

there’s a lot going on in this pic: burger in foreground, salad and chili sauce hanging out in the background

Question: why are hamburgers called hamburgers when they are made of beef?

That torments me, it’s surely one of life’s greatest unanswered questions (see also: was everyone in Lost dead?)

I put my torment aside though to enjoy these homemade burgers which are unquestionably beefy.

We slapped them on the BBQ (yes, barbecuing in February, another perk of living south) and then devoured them with a generous dollop of chili sauce.

Oh and big shout out to Kitchen Slattern who first turned me on to the idea of using cocoa powder in chili with this post. Love it!

Herb Beef Burgers (makes 4)

  • 1lb (454g) ground beef
  • 1 egg
  • 4 tsps fresh parsley, finely chopped
  • 1 1/2 tsps fresh rosemary, finely chopped
  • 1/2 tsp fresh marjoram, finely chopped
  • 2 tsps black pepper
  • 1 tsp sea salt
  • 2 cloves of garlic, minced
  1. Combine all the above ingredients in a large mixing bowl. Stir until combined.
  2. Take a fist-sized amount and roll into a ball, flatten the ball to make a disc shape and set aside. The mixture should make 4.
  3. Chill the burger patties in the fridge for at least an hour or ’til needed.
  4. We did ours on the barbeque for 6-8 minutes each side but you could just as easily fry or broil/grill them.

Chili Sauce (makes just under 1 cup or enough for 2-4)

  • 1 cup diced tomato
  • 2 tsps fresh parsley
  • 1 large clove of garlic
  • 2 tbsps organic tomato paste
  • 1/2 tsp sea salt
  • 1 tsp black pepper
  • 1 tsp paprika
  • 1/2 tsp unsweetened cocoa powder
  • 1/4 tsp cinnamon
  1. Whizz all the above together in a food processor until it is a chunky paste.
  2. Serve with burgers.
27 thoughts on “Herb Beef Burgers & Chunky Chili Sauce

  1. The ham in hamburger is not referring to the type of meat. Rather, it is named for the city of Hamburg, in Germany. During WWII, hamburgers were renamed to “liberty burgers”. Obviously, that name didn’t stick too well.
    Hope that helps your tormented condition. 😉

  2. Pingback: Italian Meatballs & Creamy Tomato Sauce « Things My Belly Likes

  3. Pingback: Hearty Corned Beef Hash « Things My Belly Likes

  4. Pingback: Liver & Bacon Meatballs | Things My Belly Likes

  5. Pingback: Fiery Squash Chili | Things My Belly Likes

  6. Pingback: Feta & Basil Turkey Burgers | Things My Belly Likes

  7. Pingback: Herb Beef Burgers and Chunky Chili Sauce | Get Paleo

  8. Pingback: Jalapeno & Mozzarella Burgers | Things My Belly Likes

  9. Pingback: Sweet Potato Sloppy Joes | Things My Belly Likes

  10. Pingback: Chestnut & Rosemary Stuffing | Things My Belly Likes

  11. Pingback: Garlic Ketchup | Things My Belly Likes

  12. Pingback: Mozzarella & Spinach Stuffed Meatballs | Things My Belly Likes

  13. Pingback: Taco Pie | Things My Belly Likes

  14. Hi, I do think this is an excellent site. I stumbledupon it
    😉 I will come back once again since I book marked it. Money and freedom is the greatest way to change, may
    you be rich and continue to help others.

  15. Pretty nice post. I just stumbled upon your blog and
    wished to say that I’ve truly enjoyed surfing around your blog posts. In any case I will be subscribing to your feed and I hope you write again very soon!

  16. Pingback: Spicy Hamburger Soup | Things My Belly Likes

Leave a Reply

