Spiced Berry Crumble

berries, meet belly. I know you two will be very happy together

Here’s another perfect winter warmer to cram down your neck in these desperate and snowy times.

Not that Caribbean-dwellers such as myself are having a particularly harsh winter.

It’s true that yesterday the sun went behind a cloud and I was all “SET FIRE TO SOMETHING SO WE HAVE WARMTH!” but happily it reappeared before frostbite set in and/or my house burnt to the ground.

But before all you irate Canadians/Brits start scribbling down the hate mail, think of this comforting crumble as my sorry-you’re-stuck-in-winter-hell gift.

It’s spiced so a bit different from your average crumble and bursting with lovely berry antioxidants. Blueberries and raspberries are getting all the play here, they usually do (I consider them the sluts of the berry world).

This recipe uses the frozen kind because fresh are hard to come by in these parts but I’m sure fresh would work just as well.

Spiced Berry Crumble (I made this in a 24oz pie dish which would happily serve 3-4 people)

Crumble topping:

  • 1/2 cup sliced almonds
  • 1 tbsp coconut flour (or any generic flour)
  • 2 tbsps rolled oats (if you are sensitive to grains just ditch these and add some more nuts)
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp nutmeg
  • 1 tbsp honey
  • 2 tbsps chilled butter, cut into small cubes
  1. Grind the almonds into a rough crumb (I used a coffee grinder which did an excellent job)
  2. In a large bowl combine the ground almonds, coconut flour, oats if you’re using them, cinnamon, nutmeg and honey. Stir together.
  3. Add in the butter, using your fingers to grind it into the dry mixture until it resembles large crumbs.
  4. Put in the fridge while you start on the fruit filling.

    anyone else thinking about Violet Beauregard?

Filling:

  • 1 cup frozen blueberries
  • 1 cup frozen raspberries
  • 2 tbsps honey
  • 1 tsp cornstarch
  1. Combine all the above into your baking dish and stir.
  2. Get the crumble from the fridge and sprinkle it on the top until it forms a thick layer.
  3. Bake at 350 for 20 minutes.

Serve with ice-cream, whipped cream or custard. Whatever floats your boat.

the blueberries, making a break for it

20 thoughts on “Spiced Berry Crumble

  1. You must pity more than ust the Canadians and the Brits – think of the North Floridians dealing with this cold-front that came from nowhere! Yeeeeow, it’s chilly. I’m even wearing socks today.

    I try my darndest to buy local and seasonal (it’s a new hobby of mine – one that apparently deprives me of fun stuff like this in February). Come May & June, I’m totally sticking my face in one of these and gobbling it up.

    • Hells yeah! I hear you – today it’s COLD in these parts – what the heck is that about? I’m wearing a sweater! A sweater I tell you!

      Good for you with your buying seasonal. I’m v impressed, I want to do that but don’t possess the self-discipline.

      Come back in the summer and let me know if you enjoyed the crumble 🙂

    • Hi Patty, thanks so much. I don’t use anything fancy -use my trusty old digital Lumix Panasonic and occasionally hubby’s larger, more impressive, camera (the name of which escapes me just now). I don’t have any special equipment, just my kitchen, camera and food. Perhaps one day I’ll have the full studio works….a girl can dream.

      Thanks for checking out the blog & commenting 🙂

  2. Pingback: GF Apple & Raspberry Crumble with Vanilla Custard « Things My Belly Likes

  3. Pingback: Rice Pudding & Spiced Peach Jam « Things My Belly Likes

  4. Pingback: Blueberry Coffee Bundt Cake « Things My Belly Likes

  5. Pingback: Strawberry Creme Brulee « Things My Belly Likes

  6. Pingback: Blueberry Pie « Things My Belly Likes

  7. Pingback: Cranachan | Things My Belly Likes

  8. Pingback: Pear & Cranberry Crumble | Things My Belly Likes

Leave a Reply

