Banana and Carob Cake

this slice went into my face about a minute after the photo was taken

The in-laws are coming to stay soon so I am in typical Visiting-In-Law Frenzy (VILF).

VILF looks an awful lot like a full scale mental breakdown – lots of obsessive cleaning, aggressively hoarding the alcohol and bouts of Tourettes-like swearing – with one major exception: I cook. A lot.

Truth be told, meal-planning is my favourite part of VILF.

It is a great excuse to try out recipes that I never get around to because I sleep late/there’s a sale on downtown/it’s a sunny day/the dog threw up. Pick your poison.

It’s always a struggle though.

Not to sound like a killjoy but I’m conscious of carbs (ha! How’s that for a bumper sticker slogan?), grains and sugar and try to limit those while indulging my lovely in-laws’ sweet tooth (teeth? toothes?).

I think I’ve done myself proud with this effort though. It’s good for the belly and good for all those little pleasure receptors in the brain.

A word of caution though – this is a very moist and dense cake. If you are like me and the red mist descends when you see cake, go easy. A little goes a long way.

Banana and Carob Cake

  • 1 over-ripe, bit gross, banana
  • 6 eggs
  • 2 tbsps unsulphured molasses*
  • 1/4 cup coconut oil
  • 1/2 cup coconut flour
  • 1/4 cup carob powder
  • 1/2 cup walnut pieces
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda

*you can sub in honey here but the molasses really does give it a nice, rich kick. Plus you get iron, magnesium, potassium and otherย lovely nutritional add-ons.

a disparate bunch but they came together to make one tasty cake

  1. Mash the banana in a large bowl
  2. Beat in the eggs, coconut oil and molasses.
  3. In a separate bowl, sieve the coconut flour, carob and baking soda. Add the salt.
  4. Gradually add the wet ingredients to the dry, stirring thoroughly. Fold in the walnut pieces.
  5. Pour the batter into a well-greased round 9×1.5in pie dish.
  6. Bake @400F for 16 minutes. Remove and let cool before serving.

modeling the 'just baked' look

If serving to guests, add a dollop of whipped cream.

I was making it as a trial run so didn’t bother with any flippery.ย My belly’s not that fancy.

11 thoughts on “Banana and Carob Cake

  1. Pingback: Sweet Tamarind & Banana Tart « Things My Belly Likes

  2. Pingback: Apple Yoghurt Cake « Things My Belly Likes

  3. Pingback: Banana Berry Muffins « Things My Belly Likes

  4. Pingback: Banana Berry Muffins « Things My Belly Likes

  5. Pingback: Blueberry Coffee Bundt Cake « Things My Belly Likes

Leave a Reply

