80s Revival: Garlicky Devilled Eggs

Devilled eggs: the ultimate 80s status symbol

According to cookery lore, devilled eggs were quite the conversation piece at 80s dinner parties.

I wouldn’t know.

In the 80s the only parties I attended or hosted involved playing Dreamphone and watching movies like Ghostbusters (which, FYI totally stood the test of time). Devilled eggs were pretty low on our priority list.

Now though I can’t get enough of ’em. What’s not to like? They are creamy, salty, tangy, delicious and other good adjectives. Garlic only adds to the brilliance of a very simple, but very satisfying dish.

You can make in advance and they’ll keep beautifully in the fridge for up to 24 hours. If you do decide to keep for a later date, make sure you refrigerate sans the paprika and sprinkle that on just before serving.

that face says: "I'm surly but alluring"

It’s time for an 80s revival, people!

I’m bringing back devilled eggs…along with Bruce Springsteen’s rockin’ headband,  fluorescent eyeshadow and my innocence. Admittedly I can resurrect only two of those things but a girl can dream.

Now who’s with me?

Garlicky Devilled Eggs  (serves three, or two if you want that little bit extra)

  • 1/2 tsp minced garlic
  • 3 hardboiled eggs
  • 1 tsp paprika
  • 2 tsps mayonnaise
  • dash of lemon juice
  • 1/2 tsp yellow mustard
  • salt and pepper
  1. Carefully half the eggs and scoop out the yolk. This is painstaking so, if you are not a patient person, get a patient person to do it for you.

    the weirdness of disemboweled eggs

  2. Put the yolks in a bowl and add the mayo, garlic, lemon juice and mustard. Stir until creamy and smooth.
  3. Add a generous pinch of salt and pepper.
  4. Insert a large teaspoon of the mixture back into the hollowed out eggs (I nearly wrote eyes – how creepy is that?)
  5. If saving for later, put the eggs in a tupperware container in the fridge until needed. If serving straight away gently sprinkle a light dusting of paprika over the top (again you might need that patient person to assist).
15 thoughts on “80s Revival: Garlicky Devilled Eggs

  1. i am planning to have a 70s revival dinner party soon. these make me consider doing an 80s one too. or just making them and eating them wearing leg warmers
    yumm

    • Hi Kim,

      a 70s dinner party you say?! Intriguing. The mind boggles – please tell me you’ll have the BeeGees on the stereo as you sit down to eat.

      If there’s one thing I’ve learnt in life, it’s that you don’t need a party to eat devilled eggs…any excuse will do.

  2. Pingback: Not Potato Salad « Things My Belly Likes

  3. Pingback: Sour Cream & Garlic Potato Salad | Things My Belly Likes

  4. Pingback: Huevos Endiablados | Things My Belly Likes

  5. Pingback: Fisherman’s Eggs | Things My Belly Likes

  6. Pingback: Salsa Baked Eggs | Things My Belly Likes

  7. Pingback: Parsley & Dill Egg Salad | Things My Belly Likes

Leave a Reply

