Banana Coconut Bread

hungry yet?

Weekends are for baking. Oh sure, some philistines would say weekends are for drinking your face off, going dancing, kissing unsuitable partners and other assorted forms of merriment but that’s not the way we roll in these parts.

Happiness to this simple gal is throwing together some delicious baked good and then devouring it warm from the oven with a mug of tea and a good book (I’m on a Margaret Atwood kick in case you’re interested).

With the natural sweetness of both banana and coconut in this loaf, you don’t need any sugar in this recipe. I’m using coconut flour which doesn’t rise like conventional flours and is quite dense but this produces a lovely, cakey, moist loaf.

It’s perfect for munching solo or entertaining if you are the type that tea parties (and I don’t mean that in a political sense).

Banana Coconut Bread

  • 1 large, over-ripe banana
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 6 eggs
  • 1/2 cup chopped pecans (optional)
  • 1/2 tsp sea salt
  • 1/2 cup butter
  • 3/4 cup coconut flour
  • 1/3 cup organic, plain, full-fat yoghurt
  1. In a bowl mash the banana and add the eggs, yoghurt, vanilla and melted butter. Stir until it is nice and gooey.
  2. Sieve the coconut flour and salt into a separate bowl.
  3. Gradually add the wet ingredients to the dry, stirring the batter constantly as coconut flour sucks up moisture like I suck up cheese.
  4. Fold the pecans into the batter and then pour the mixture into a pre-prepared (ie greased or lined with greaseproof paper) 9inx5in loaf tin.
  5. Bake for 30 minutes at 400.
16 thoughts on “Banana Coconut Bread

  1. I couldn’t agree more, Tea & Sympathy, all days are for baking. Sadly though, I just never seem to have the time Mon-Fri.

    Thanks for commenting. Love your site…it makes me drool and I wholeheartedly support your decision to make Curly Wurlys the chocolate bar of the week. They are awesome!

  2. Hi Cat,
    I ended up adding an extra banana and 4 eggs and while it didn’t turn out quite like a bread consistency that I wanted (it was extremly dense and a little crumbly) it tasted so delicious! I will definately make again and do the full 6 eggs. Thanks 🙂

    • Phew! Glad it wasn’t a disaster. I guess that proves this recipe is extremely adaptable (or that you are an extremely adaptable cook!). Delighted you persevered and triumphed, thanks for checking back in.

  3. Oooo ooooo ooooo….ANOTHER fab recipe….!!!

    Wish I’d found your site and your hilarious, extremely apt comment about coconut flour’s absorption of liquids (not that I have the slightest idea of just how much cheese you CAN suck up LOL) BEFORE I baked those loaves earlier today 🙂

    J

  4. Pingback: Carmelised Plantain Bread « Things My Belly Likes

  5. Pingback: Apple Yoghurt Cake « Things My Belly Likes

  6. Pingback: Chia Lemon Drizzle Cake « Things My Belly Likes

  7. Pingback: Banana Berry Muffins « Things My Belly Likes

  8. Pingback: Carrot & Squash Bread | Things My Belly Likes

  9. Pingback: Flax & Raisin Breakfast Bread | Things My Belly Likes

  10. Pingback: My belly really likes Things My Belly Likes! « theprimalsexy

  11. Pingback: Very Ginger Gingerbread | Things My Belly Likes

  12. Pingback: 28 Yummy Paleo Banana Bread Recipes

Leave a Reply

